Advice for styling Kishu Shimpaku

(Samuel Tan) #1

Hey everyone,

I recently got into a Bonsai and purchased a Kishu Shimpaku from a local Bonsai Nursery. It came in a training pot, and it looks great. However, I think it has a lot of potential for styling.

Please see more pictures and a walk-around video at https://goo.gl/photos/bp8ooqnk1Jr9d5tp9.

The main questions I have right now are:

• Is it a good time to style the tree, or should I continue to let it grow? The trunk is only about 1 inch thick now, and the tree is in a growing pot. I’m not sure if I should continue to let this tree develop before refining it.

• What style should I go for with this tree? I’ve looked up pictures of classic bonsai designs, and it looks like Slanted, Informal Upright, or Canopy are possibilities.

If you folks have any thoughts, I’d love to hear them. Thanks!

Hi Samuel,

First things first, as you could probably note from the question I posted few days ago on Junipers, I am a rookie with Junipers and you should certainly wait for more experienced users to address your questions.

Anyway, being a rookie, I am currently studying hard the features of this awesome species and I would like to share with you a couple of thoughts on this beautiful tree in order to start a discussion, which I think is the base of learning.

The first thing I can notice from the picture is that the structure of the tree is influenced by apical dominance, which is typical of Junipers (the foliage mass in the upper part of the tree is dense and thriving vs. thinner lower branches). Hence, If I worked on this tree, I would thin a little the upper part letting the first branches run freely in order to establish proportion in the overall structure. This process would also maximize photosynthetic efficiency: each upper branch would get its own ray of sunlight producing a bigger amount of sugars, starches and carbohydrates.

As a general rule, I would follow Ryan Neils’ tip on thickening branches: