Advice on an Eastern Red Cedar

(Rick) #1

I posted this on another forum but, thought I’d try here also.

I have no experience with bonsai but, have always appreciated the art. I recently decided to start learning about bonsai in the hope of picking up a new hobby. I’ve read enough posts on different forums to know that ERC makes for poor bonsai material but, figured since I needed some trees to practice on anyway . . . Why not.

My buddy was going to bulldoze an Eastern Red Cedar on his property and I talked him into taking a coffee break just long enough for me to hastily dig it up. I had to be quick about it but, managed to save a lot of the rootball. I stuck it in a large pot (I had sitting around) that was already 3/4’s full of some potting soil from last summer. If it survives a Cape Cod winter, I’d like to try some shaping and styling in the future. I was hoping for some instructive advice.

As is typical for ERC, this tree wanted to grow into a fence post. However, since it was located on a windy bluff, nature kept it somewhat short and shrubby with a fairly thick trunk (for it’s height). The trunk has some taper and a little (very little) movement.

For those of you that don’t completely despise this native species, can you please tell me what my next steps should be regarding this tree? I realize it needs some time to recover and get healthy before I do any cutting but, any suggestions on styling/shaping would be appreciated.

P.S. I plan on purchasing additional (more acceptable) species of trees to learn and work with simultaneously

(Gregory Goldstein) #2

Hi Rick. Like you I am new to bonsai, and so cannot answer your question as to the next step. However, can you tell me why Eastern Red Cedar is not a particularly popular species to work with in bonsai art?
Sincerely, Gregory

(Rick) #3

Hi, Gregory. Among the reasons I’ve seen listed (and can remember off-hand):