Anyone use Tree-Wraps for Trunk Protection from Rabbits, Rats, etc.?

Anyone use Tree-Wraps for Trunk Protection from Rabbits, Rats, etc.?

If, yes, what works best and what are your recommendations?

I see many different types and materials on Amazon - stuff that looks just like weed fabric (but sold as thin strips instead), felt, burlap, paper, plastic, etc., etc.

I want to plant some young/small plants in my front-yard next spring; but I’m always scared the rabbits will just chew them up and kill them (there’s tons of rabbits around here at night).

They already trunk-chopped one of my small azaleas down to the ground/soil when I put it in the front-yard last late-spring/summer (which hasn’t sprouted back after 3-4 months, so it’s probably dead). I really don’t want that to happen again if I put/plant some of my precious JMs, azaleas or other plants in the front-yard.

I have no experience with this - will be curious if anyone has good tips on this.

1 Like

I’ve searched for reviews on Amazon… and people def say it prevents rabbits, rats, deer from chewing the bark. But, I wanted to hear any experience with it from people here.

The burlap one def looks the most attractive/natural. But idk if it’s the most effective.

How about wrapping the trunk with a thin sheet of aluminum ( check if HD has it ), like a cylinder to go around the trunk., I’ve seen it in coconut trees back home to prevent critters from running up and down the trunk ( they slide when they reach the cylinder). Maybe you can try wrapping the trunk with aluminum foil ( 2 - 3 wraps ), see if they can chew through it.

1 Like