Are these mealy bugs?

I have a bonsai that I have had for two years now. It has white around the limbs. I’ve included two attachments of picture’s. Are these mealy bugs or something else? Can you let me know what I can do to get rid of what it is before my plant dies? And how to avoid them in the future? I live in the San Francisco Bay Area, but where the summer’s are hot.

I am far from an expert, so hopefully there is better advice coming. I can share that last year my Fukien Tea had what appeared to be something similar that produced a white residue. It turned out to be aphids, I also had a number of ants which are a symptom of aphids. I used a combination of Neem oil spray and dunking the entire pot in water for a half an hour or so to try and drown any in the roots. I used rubbing alcohol on a Q-Tip to clean up the areas with white residue. These actions seemed to take care of the issue as the tree has been thriving ever since.

Thank you.
Yesterday, I did use a Q-Tip with rubbing alcohol to remove them. Then, I diluted the alcohol with water and sprayed the plant. This morning I did notice more, but used the Q-Tip again.
I’m hoping I won’t kill it.

Is that black stuff too? Black stuff is “sooty mold,” which is old leftovers dew secretions from aphids/scale that the ants have eaten and/or pooped out. It’s a sign that aphids, scale, etc. were on the tree before and/or still.

Geez, my poor plant is getting it from everywhere.
I put rubbing alcohol on them with a Q-tip, then sprayed it with rubbing alcohol and water mix.
Is there anything you can suggest I do to help my bonsai?

It’s a good thing that you noticed these! So in addition to topical, I would suggest watering in a tree systemic that kills insects from the inside. I have had very good results using a systemic as soon as I see signs of pests.

I use both a systemic (once per year) and also a spray (mineral/horticultural oil, neem is similar).
Systemic is easier, as you don’t need to always spray.