Building boxes For Yamadori material

(Christopher J Parker) #1

Just wondering if anyone have any good plans for building boxes?

I just built one from cedar and has a tile base. After completion though I am concerned that a strong structure has created poor access.

(Jonas Dupuich) #2

Looks good - I’ve used similar designs. What’s the idea behind the tile base?

And can you say more about what kind of access are you referring to?

(Tim Shea ) #3

Assemble with " rust resistant coated Deck screws w/ a dab of wheel grease on the screw top for insurance ,where is the drainage ??? Lots is of drainage GOOD !!! Tim S

(Christopher J Parker) #4

As a carpenter I see a lot of rot on a daily basis. I have lots of surplus tiles so I thought the base could use it.

I am really into the concepts of upcycling, so I tend to design things with considerations to disassembly. That said as it is a deeper box having a pull away panel would assist repotting.

(Christopher J Parker) #5

And yes to drainage I used a diamond blade and cut 7-9 slits. As well drilled homes in the bottom board for greater air flow + drainage. hot dipped cedar tone screws, we’re also used predrilled to avoid splitting. I did consider beeswaxing the inside of the box, but thought it was overkill.

(Jonas Dupuich) #6

The removable panel is a good idea - the ability to disassemble a pot at repotting always comes in handy.

As for the tiles, it’ll be interesting to see how the roots respond, whether they coil more or less against that surface.

(Maurizio Leo) #7

Preventing rot with the tiles is a great idea – I guess it depends on how long you plan to keep the tree in there before repotting again.

I’m not an expert in building boxes and am hardly a carpenter, but this is how I devised a recent pot for a maple I acquired.