Collected, Large Pyracantha Future Direction & Styling

(Maurizio Leo) #1

Hello, all! This is my first post here but I’m glad I found this community (I’ve been reading Bonsai Tonight for quite a while, however).

I am a beginner bonsai enthusiast and have around 10 or so trees, but this is probably my largest. I collected this pyracantha from a yard last spring and have kept it in this training tub all year letting it recover. I’m in no rush to style this tree but I’d like to try to get a future direction for it so I can start planning as new shoots come in (as you know they harden off quickly and become difficult to bend).

The tricky thing with this tree is that there are kind of 3 trunks to deal with, one that swings off to the left and two that are kind of joined on the right. The two that are joined do eventually cross and so I’ve felt this to be a bit of a detraction to the overall design. The left swinging trunk has little taper and goes off in a strange angle.

I’d love it if you could help me see a direction for this tree! I’ve thought of trying to keep all 3 trunks and build a type of triangular canopy over the years. I’ve also contemplated completely chopping that far left swinging trunk and focus more around the right two, creating a natural bend to the right and then develop a triangular canopy to the left-ish.

I’m open to any thoughts and ideas, I really appreciate any help provided!

I’ve upload more, higher resolution images, here:

(Dan Wiederrecht) #2

Killer tree! You did well with this one; it’s going to make a very nice bonsai! Welcome to the forum by the way. :smile:
I’ll let Jonas or one of the others give you the input you’re after, but I will say that you may likely end up chopping those trunks lower, so they wouldn’t be crossing anyway.

(Maurizio Leo) #3