I am Michael Hagedorn, Ask Me Anything

(crataegus001) #1

Hi, I’m Michael Hagedorn and I live in Portland, Oregon, USA. Some eons back (8 years ago) I was an apprentice under Shinji Suzuki in Japan. When I got home I wrote a book about that comedic period and published it under the title, Post-Dated: The Schooling of an Irreverent Bonsai Monk. A bedroom in my house is now sagging under the weight of hopeful copies, so if you want several boxes please let me know.

I’m also the founder of the Portland Bonsai Village, which is still a young, green, nubile shoot but we hope it will continue to grow and become one of those heritage trees that arc out over a neighborhood and have cool labels on them and such.

And as the title suggests, you ask me anything. Well, almost anything about bonsai, very little about tango, and almost nothing about everything else.

I will begin answering questions on the morning of April 24th.

UPDATE: Questions are now closed - thank you to everyone for participating!

Fagus Crenata Development
Time in japan was rewarding?
Fagus Crenata Development

Dear Micheal,
Just in the last few years it seems as info on development and refinement of Pondo pines has really evolved. I am somewhat confused though–even after working with Ryan with a study group. Its clear that leaving buds and needles alone and increasing growth as much as possible through all season aggressive fert and pumice based soil really gets them rocking however my understanding of the refinement phase is less clear especially on techiques and timing of cutting hardened candles–can you give a Pondo refinement sysnopsis with your usual lucid eloquence.

Hello mister Hagedorn,

• What is key in developing and maintaining good sho-hin bonsai?
  • Do you tend to feed your companion plants? If yes, with what and how often? If no, what is the rationale behind the decision?
  • Any new “hidden” species in store for us, similar to chojubai?