I’m New, Opinions Please

Hi,
I’m literally brand new, I’ve read a few books, and lots of blogs, but I’d love some recommendations from people about what helped them: Books, Podcasts, YouTube.
Also opinions on if this looks ok for a first attempt. I’m recovering from surgery and this seemed like a great hobby to pick up.
Cheers
N

Hi - can you say a bit about what you were going for when pruning and wiring the tree?

I was hoping that if I started training it could form a wind blown look and start cascading down the side.
I had left the left hand side of the images thinking that maybe it would start growing upwards. The front facing I left because I had no idea what to do with and figured that if I couldn’t decide, then I could cut it later.
It kinda ended up looking like a Mohawk, which might look interesting?
Thanks for the question. Like I said, super new and really want to learn. I thought a juniper would be simple to learn with before trying something harder.

Thanks, that helps! One thing to think about is whether the movement you created in the branches shows consistency or similarity. This applies to the curves in the branch as well as the general direction of growth (e.g. whether a branch grows up or down).

Some branches grow up and out while others grow down, and the lower branches look like they might be a bit twistier than the upper branches. Does this sound right?

Yes that really does, thank you. The center branch definitely frowns up and the larger front one is more wanting to curve down.
Should those forward facing be curved or removed?

The way I think about it is that the same forces in nature typically effect all of the branches on a tree. This can result in branches that mostly grow up or mostly down. The tree is almost taking a windswept form - that’s one option for styling. As for the cascading branches, I like it when the tree just grows up or just grows down, i.e. it takes on a cascade form or an upright form.