Ideal Time to Transplant JRP/JBP Seedlings

(Tyrone Slothrop) #1

This is my first year propagating by seed – pine or otherwise. I had great germination, but I’m curious, can I transplant the seedlings at any time? Would right now be okay? Currently I have them all in a big cement mixing tub and intend to put them in individual pots. I live in Michigan and the growing season started about a month ago (or less).

Additionally, if one were to transplant them at this time of year (assuming this is an okay thing to do), would cutting the taproot be advisable?

Thanks ;-D

(Jonas Dupuich) #2

One of the first questions is whether or not you’re interested in making seedling cuttings (making cuttings of the seedlings to generate more roots). If the answer is yes, that’s a good opportunity to transplant the seedlings into individual containers.

If you’re not looking to make seedling cuttings, the next question is whether the seedlings can stay in the mixing tub through the growing season or if it makes more sense to separate them earlier. Leaving the seedlings together for a full season is fine, but the roots can become a tangled mess, especially if there isn’t a lot of soil for them. Also, if the seedlings are planted very close to each other, say 1" or less space between them, they can benefit from more space.

Seedlings can grow continuously the first year and repotting at any time can slow them down. I’d want to repot them sooner rather than later, at about the time with the immature needles are fully grown but before the trunk elongates further. The tap root can be cut at this time if desired, though additional care will be required to ensure the seedling doesn’t dry out.

Feel free to post a photo so we can see how far along the seedlings are.

(Tyrone Slothrop) #3

Jonas,

Thank you for replying in such detail!