Japanese Black Pine

(Bill Daniels) #1

Good Morning Jonas

Do you de-candle – the same year you repot ?. Repotting a healthy JBP in the winter months.

Report in the winter dec thru Feb

De-candle in the summer June thru July

pull needles in the fall Oct thru Nov

I’m still learning --I see healthier tree the second year then repotting.
Bill D

(Jonas Dupuich) #2

I often decandle the same year I repot, but it depends on the health of the tree. If the tree is in any way weak or didn’t receive enough fertilizer in early spring, I don’t decandle.

What stage is the tree in? Development, refinement? Is it a young tree, semi-mature or mature? All this plays into the steps you will take.

I was also wondering if we are reducing the root ball of a JBP, should I also remove part of the foliage in order to balance the foliage with the root ball? I know that this is “required” for tropicals and junipers, but I am not so sure about pines.

Thank you

(Frank Corrigan) #5

No. Reducing the foliage limits the ability to repair the roots.

(Merlin) #6

I was wondering, what if you decide not to decandle and you get undesirable long shoots. What do you do with those?

If reducing the foliage reduce the roots repair ability, does this means that is better to not decandle or to leave an sacrifice branch before repotting? I know Dupuich says he decandle, but does it increase the success rate if I just do not do it? Or all the success is on the post-repotting care?

Thanks

(Jonas Dupuich) #8

Not decandling doesn’t always yield long shoots. When they do, there are a number of techniques to address them. Some can be cut off, others can be shortened, and others can be left long for a year or two and cut off later. I tend to decide which approach makes the most sense branch by branch while I’m working on the tree.

(Frank Corrigan) #9