Japanese White Pine

(Vernon Howells) #1

Hi guys i’m new to this forum. Just got my first JWP and its a starter tree so many years ahead to turn this into a Bonsai. (Hoping) i’m very new to Bonsai and only learning. I have a Chinese Elm and many Ficus plants.

I live in Scotland does anyone here from the UK or Scotland and is growing a JWP? also can i repot it into a more suitable substrate (free drainage) or is too late?

(Jeremiah Lee ) #2

Nice to have you here! Generally speaking the best time to re-pot a tree is in early spring before a big flush of growth.

(Vernon Howells) #3

Searched the forum and it seems JWP isn’t that common alot of posts on JBP?

Also finding more good articles on JBP rather than JWP is that because thet are similar except for single and multiple flush?

(Vernon Howells) #4

Just i pinch the candles or leave the pine to grow freely to thicken up the trunk and branches?

Can’t find anything on development pines on what to do at this stage

(Jonas Dupuich) #5

You’re right about the ratio white to black pine posts - it’s way easier to find information on black pines than white.

White pine care is different than black pine care. One example - no decandling white pines.

At the most basic level, care includes cutting old needles in summer, cutback and wiring in fall, and repotting in early spring.

I’ve written just a bit on the topic - you can find the posts here:
https://bonsaitonight.com/tag/white-pine/

The main thing for your trees at this point will be selecting the best front, selecting the primary branches, and then repotting during the dormant season to start getting the trees into bonsai soil. Techniques specific to white pines will come into play more as the tree develops.

(Vernon Howells) #6

Ah thankyou for the reply.

I’m a bit unsure of how this top branch is turning out or infact will i pinch all top candles in half?

(Jonas Dupuich) #7