Lower branching on pine

(John) #1

I’m new to pines and I received some nursery stock that’s about 4-5 years old. The trees are about 3 foot tall and there are no branches on the first foot of the trunck. This is a big issue for bonsai and I read your blog and you really know your stuff. Could you give me some guidance please.

(Jonas Dupuich) #2

The tree looks healthy, that’s a good start. Do you have an idea for the tree’s future?

(John) #3

Im thinking a thick trunked upright or informal upright slant but if I can’t get a lower branch I could do a laterati

(Christopher J Parker) #4

You could use existing branches to do a graft, cut down the top hoping for back bud or air/earth layer to rise the roots?

Really these stock plants don’t have much character, making them good to practise both skill and artistry.

(John) #5

Thank you for that Christopher I’m in a forum and the only thing I could get was dig the tree up pot it grow it for 3-5 years fert fert fert. And hope for back budding. But I know there’s ways to help back budding I was going to pluck from all the top branches to show the tree that the lower/ lowest branches are important once the candles pop I was going to trim to 1 branch at each knot or even change the apex. I’m used to deciduous trees so this is different and I know you can’t cut to far back. I’m looking for a 2-3 inch trunck before I really start training.

(Jonas Dupuich) #6

If you want a bigger trunk before training begins, lower branching isn’t too important at this point. When the trunk reaches the desired size you can work with the lowest branch, new buds will appear or you can graft.

The main thing to focus on while the trunk thickens is developing the movement and taper you’re looking for.

(John) #7

What’s the best way to focus on taper

(Jonas Dupuich) #8