Maple fall pruning help

Hi all

Sorry in advance for my never ending questions. I’m a newbie so new questions comes to mind everyday.

I was gonna do some work fall work on my japanese maple. Aaand i got stuck ind the middle of not knowing what was the better step to take in terms of my pruning. (and also i cracked an apical branch which made me stop and think twice about my next move)

The problem is on the first branch and second, and my question is how far back i should prune it. At moment its very straight and unbendable at least to my degree of comfort. further more there some scaring, and no taper and i in general unsure wether this branch will ever look nice.

I did a partial defoliation in the summer, and the tree didn’t push out much new growth after. I have fertilized with biogold. but not very heavily. And the tree needs to be repotted in spring as drainage is poor.

So my question is should i prune back to red 1 and start the branch over? or red 2 and get moment from that shoot? and secondly prune back to purple and use the shoot there. or should i wait and let it grow, repot and prune back next fall?

thanks all for suggestions :smile:

Perhaps I could suggest another option.
Leave until spring and repot, let it grow and gain in health this season.
My preference is for minor pruning in the fall. Prefer to reserve major pruning the following spring to ensure a longer recovery period of growth. Also prefer to perform major work of any kind only on very healthy tree’s that do not require repotting in the same year.

2 Likes

Thank you frank! That sounds like a plan! Do you agree with what I’m thinking of doing? And how far back is would cut the first branch? All the way back to first bud! Or to the second?

Secondly I wanted to do some root grafting. Can I do that same season as repot? Or would another season for that aswell?