Questions about UME

(Atom) #1

Hello all, my name is Atom and i live in the bay area! Great blog btw. I am very new to the bonsai world and have been doing a lot of reading and such. But reading can only get you so far… I recently picked up an ume seedling because so far they are my favorite, its really the only thing i have as of now. Well, im pretty sure i killed it :[ so i am just about to get another, it came in a little green pot maybe 1 or 2 quarts. My question is with really small trees like this, when i first get them, should i remove all the soil and put in bonsai soil? When i first got it i removed it from the pot it came in and into a bigger pot with all new soil. Im pretty sure thats what did it. Maybe wrong time of the year? Im not sure if its completely dead, but all the leaves turned brown and fell off. I am also curious as to when you should start fertilizing a small tree? Anyway, any insight on this would be greatly appreciated, im sure you get a lot of noobs like me asking questions, but i appreciate your time into hopefully sheading some light.

(Catherine Wolf) #2

Hello Atom. Is this the SF Bay Area you refer to? There are very many clubs in the area that can ease your introduction to bonsai. We repot most trees in winter when they are dormant but not while there is a chance of freezing. For the SF Bay Area we have a wide window for repotting that stretches from December through February. No chemical fertilizers for a month after repotting. I have been told by one person that organic fertilizer right after repotting is okay, because it doesn’t have the salts that cause roots to burn.

(Jonas Dupuich) #3

Hi Atom - Catherine’s advice is great. As you found out, removing all of the soil from the tree can be stressful, especially if this happens during the growing season. Strong trees can sometimes lose their leaves and bud back again, but this is less often the case with young or weak trees.