Rank Beginner needs advice for Commercial Azalea Bonsai gift

Rank beginner here. My daughter gave me an single-trunk (from a whip?) bonsai, which was delivered about a week ago. The info in the box was for Outdoor Bonsai, but no where did it say what species the plant was. . . My daughter told me it was supposed to be an azalea. I’m from VA originally, so am a bit familiar with azaleas. Flagstaff, AZ, may be hard for it.

I put it out on our west-facing deck, in bright shade, on the hydration tray with pebbles. I read “The Little Book” and the azalea articles here. We have hard water here; when it rains (early July?), I’ll catch rainwater. Now I water each day with tap water, which has sat out for 24 hours (to release chlorine, etc.), and started misting today with distilled water. It has dropped a lot of leaves, but I hope I caught it in time. Advice?

The soil has small green spherical pellets that look like fertilizer. I have some Miracle Gro fertilizer that I can use now. I also ordered Uncle Bill’s 3-3-3, and can order Miracid for the spring flowering. Should I hold off on all fertilizer until it adjusts to the new environment? What fertilizer do you then suggest? Any advice about any of this would be much appreciated! Thanks in advance!

P.S. If I knew how to add photos of my little tree, I would. . .

Good question - am curious what led the leaves to drop. Too dry is the most common issue, and there may have been some stress on the tree during shipping.

Here’s some info on uploading photos, btw - let us know if questions come up:

Flagstaff might be a challenge for satsuki, but it’s definitely worth a try. Applying some fertilizer now is a good idea, though if there are plenty of the green pellets (it’s fertilizer, possibly Apex), that might be adequate.