[Repot now, after summer or next year?] Pinus Mugo Bonsai Grown From Seeds - 4 months old now

(Margot) #1

Hi everybody !

I’m very new to the Bonsai activity and would like to seek advice on how to proceed with my 4 months old Pinus Mugo seeds (I’m based in London) : I’ve been offered the Bonsai Trio Kit in December 4 months after I planted them (indoor), here I have 2 Pinus Mugo getting out : they’re so tiny and fragile, and roots are now slightly exceeding the peat pot :

1. should I repot them now in a bigger pot ? I have all material ready, I’m just not sure before summer it is a good idea.
  2. should I separate the seedlings ?

I’m reading lots of different thing over the internet (repotting now or after summer, or even next year), and I’ve also bought the Bonsai Guide from Harry Tomlinson but overall I find very little information on the repotting for such young seedlings : what are your thoughts on this ?

If you have any blog/website to recommend for early stage bonsai, please feel free to share them as I would love to know more :slight_smile:

Let me know if you need any extra info - below area couple of images from the seedlings :slight_smile:

I found a similar situation here but since it was not at the same season and not exactly the same species, I wanted to ask for advice :slight_smile:

Thanks so much for your help!

(Jonas Dupuich) #2

The seedlings look like they are healthy and growing well. If they’re sill indoors, I’d take them outside immediately as they need sun and fresh air to keep growing (they can only last so long indoors).

As for the repotting, the main thing to keep in mind is how often they’re drying out. When the seedlings are small like this, the current container is fine. As they grow, the roots will fill the container and dry out more quickly.