Sacrifice leader vs lower branches - JBP

I was listening to the Bonsai Wire podcast the other day, which is awesome! I didn’t get the chance to listen to them all just yet, but I was enjoying the chat with Eric Schrader! The talk and all the experience you guys have about developing JBP is very informative to me because I’ve been growing them from seed since 2016 and I learned a ton along the way, so thanks!

A few months ago I also listened to a Bonsai Mirai podcast about Telperion farms and their ground growing method (just found out their nursery got destroyed due to fire, which is terrible…). If you haven’t listened to it yet you can check it out here.

Long story short, they grow their trees in the ground in grow bags with an incredible long sacrificial leader to encourage trunk thickening. They also play around with the trees hormones Auxin, Cytokinin, and Sugars with an emphasis on manipulating the Cytokinin and Sugar. So they needle pluck in June and prune in September to get extra back budding. They also talk about stimulating back budding on the outside of a curve while also having trunk expansion by pulling needles on sacrifice leader and leaving 2 whorls. This was all new to me.

So now I got a question about dealing with the sacrifice branch. I get the idea about decandling the sacrifice leader at some point to encourage the lower branches, which was talked about in the chat with Eric. But in the Telperion farms podcast they are calling decandling a waste of energy when developing the trunk. So I’m wondering what in their method keeps the lower branches healthy if they leave the tip of the sacrifice leader untouched? That wasn’t quite clear to me.

I would love to hear all of your thoughts on this because I put a few of my pines in colanders in and on the ground for the roots to escape.