Soil mix questions

Hi All, based in South Africa some inorganic soil components are impossible to find - I’ve managed to get hold of Crushed Leca, Silica Stone and Perlite. If I added chipped bark would it provide the necessary CEC? I was thinking 40% Leca; 15% Silica; 15% Perlite and 30% bark. Does this sound at all suitable and should there be an ingredient added to increase ph? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Interesting question! I have had no experience using any of the components you mention but i am familiar with their physical characteristics in general. I will be interested to hear how well this combination works. I would consider the following; particle size should be the same or close to the same. Varying the percentage of chipped bark will affect moisture retention and PH range the most.
For my climate that percentage of chipped bark would result in too much moisture retention, that might be required in your situation though. Let us know how that combination works and how you adjust it to suit your circumstances.

1 Like

Hi Frank - thanks so much for your feedback - I stay in a coastal town where temperatures rarely reach beyond 37 ºC in summer, humidity levels are quite high, so would you suggest reducing the amount of bark to15 or 20%? My only concern is that this is the only component that offers any CEC. Also would you suggest an addition of lime to increase PH? I’ve prepared 2 sets of particle sizes - 2 to 5mm (more refined trees) and 6 to 10mm (collected). Thanks a mil

1 Like

The baseline mix of Akadama/ pumice/ lava rock has component CEC of 31.4/ 75/ 10-30
Your mix components CEC:
Calcined clay 15-40 (likely about 30)
course sand 0
perlite 1.5 -3.5
2.8mm pine bark 24.3

You need something to raise the CEC of the mix. I like pumice other choices are charcoal 200+, vermiculite 85+ or peat moss 75-180.